Author Topic: 1911 Enlightenment Needed  (Read 10350 times)

RJMcElwain

• friend
1911 Enlightenment Needed
« on: April 04, 2007, 05:16:12 PM »
Please excuse my ignorance. When I reacquired by shooting hobby several years ago, I studied what was around and wound up mostly with SIGs and Rugers, because, for the most part, they don't have safeties, just decockers. Personal taste, I'm more comfortable with uncocked pistols.

My brother-in-law has an early model Colt 1911 which I've fired numerous times. However, I haven't fired it enough to understand the apparent mystique about 1911s versus everything else. Am I missing something? I'm not interested in irritating anyone about this, but if there are any of you who have a fair amount of experience with both 1911s and, let's say SIGs and everything else, what's the difference?

Thanks,

Bob
Robert J. McElwain
Practical Libertarian

"The strongest reason for people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government." ~Thomas Jefferson Papers, 334 (C.J.Boyd, Ed., 1950)

Sylvilagus Aquaticus

• friend
    • http://profiles.yahoo.com/sylvilagus
Re: 1911 Enlightenment Needed
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2007, 05:26:44 PM »
I don't currently own a 1911, but I've got a BHP (down from a total of 16 or so). For me, they just feel good; I appreciate the history behind all those that were made and carried in harm's way, and my Dad carried one professionally.
They also have the best trigger of any defensive firearm I've ever experienced.

Myself, I like SIGs. However, my wife carries a Springer compact 1911. Keeps her from coveting the BHP Cheesy

Regaards,
Rabbit.
To punish me for my contempt for authority, fate made me an authority myself.
Albert Einstein

The Rabbi

• friend
  • "Ahh, Jeez. Not this sh*t again!"
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2007, 05:36:36 PM »