Author Topic: An interesting observation on cops and the need for public support  (Read 2513 times)

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
From a thread about the Habersham goons burning an infant with a grenade then lying about it. If I was a cop I'd be thinking long and hard about this, instead of seeing how many .mil toys I can get from the feds.

The concept you want to think about is called hysteresis -- think about a microswitch with a spring leaf. You push and push and push, and at some point the switch flips. From that point, a small reversal is insufficient to turn the switch off. A much more significant reversal has to happen.

In the context of social behavior, this sort of thing is called a preference cascade.

This is the way it is with the authority figure in any scenario. They're largely supported, largely respected, largely obeyed and supplied with voluntary compliance and assistance.

Right up to the point when they're not.

And once that public consciousness flips, once the ants turn on the grasshoppers, that's a situation that is not easy to re acquire.
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

dogmush

• friend
Re: An interesting observation on cops and the need for public support
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 01:07:56 PM »
From a thread about the Habersham goons burning an infant with a grenade then lying about it. If I was a cop I'd be thinking long and hard about this, instead of seeing how many .mil toys I can get from the feds.

Maybe they are thinking about it, and that's why they are collecting .mil toys from the feds.   [tinfoil]

Balog

• friends
  • What if we tried more?
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 01:11:10 PM »
Maybe they are thinking about it, and that's why they are collecting .mil toys from the feds.   [tinfoil]