Main Forums > The Roundtable

Casualties and hysteria

(1/3) > >>

Bemidjiblade:
I work as a graveyard waiter and the news is always on the TV at our restaraunt ('cause there's only so long I can watch the Weather Channel, and Adult Swim is too inappropriate, dang it).

Last week I heard a news report about a car bombing, and the AP news mantra was that "This puts the casualties in Iraw at 2700!!!  Congress is putting new pressure on Prez. Bush to pull out."

Ok.  For the record, I am a HUGE fan of the US Armed Forces, and the freedom they have purchased not only for us but for the world at large through their bravery, duty, and sacrifice.

But if we're serious about this being a war on terror, exactly what sort of casualties were we expecting?

Here is an excellent DoD comparison of casualties by war.

I wish that no one had to die preserving freedom.  But as long as there are bad men who won't stop trying to take our freedom and our lives away, someone has to stop them.  Thank God for the US Military.

http://web1.whs.osd.mil/MMID/casualty/WCPRINCIPAL.pdf

In short:
Revolutionary War: 4,435
1812: 2,260
Mexican War: 13,283
Union Army in Civil War: 364,511
Spanish American War: 2,446
WW I : 116,516
WW II: 405,399
Korean War: 36,574
Vietnam Conflict: 58,209
Persian Gulf War: 382

The losses in our war against terror are tragic.  Every death means a family/marriage/friendship broken, probably dozens.  But this is a war.  In war, good people die so that other people can live free.

The willingness to put lives on the line for that good purpose is only one of the many reasons the men and women of our armed forces deserve our respect.  They do NOT deserve to be back-stabbed by a political maneuver that would pull us out ahead of time and make every one of those sacrifices in vain.

jefnvk:
I agree.  I cannot agree with this mentality that in war, no one should die.  I think it comes from our 'I should get what I want' society.