Main Forums > The Roundtable

Dealing with your SO

(1/2) > >>

Third_Rail:
I'm a full time student in a community college, training to be a CNC programmer and backup manual machinist (toolroom work).

I go to school an average of 6 hours a day, then come home to work on homework for another two to three hours, all the while getting dinner ready for myself and my wife.

My wife Jessica is working as a full time hairdresser at a nice little salon, about 42-46 hours a week including the 1/2hr commute each way. I love her very much, and I love that she's willing to work hard while I go to school, as a tired machinist doesn't generally act the safest.

When she comes home, she's already worked a full day, complete with the little nitwits in every profession - someone wanting an appointment when there simple aren't any and most are booked a full month ahead, etc.

She'll sit down in front of the TV and turn it on (or, if I'm working on the workbench which is right next to the TV, have me turn it on), and watches TV while she eats dinner. I usually eat dinner at the kitchen table, and I always invite her over when I do.

After we've both eaten dinner, I do the dishes, and every other day I go do the laundry at the laundr-o-mat here in the apartment complex. By the time I'm finished with that, it's 9:30 or so and I'm exhausted, so I go to bed. She stays up and watches TV until midnight, usually.

Like I've said, I love my wife very much and I'd love to spend more quality time with her, but I'm unsure of how to bring up these points to her without being offensive:

I don't want to be eating alone every night, nor do I want to have to sit in front of the TV to eat with my wife.
I don't like the fact that I have to do the laundry each and every single time we need to.
I don't want to always be cooking the meals, there are days that she has off and I don't, which I still have to make dinner.