Author Topic: Illinois HB182 and HB3714 waiting for signature  (Read 1791 times)

ilbob

• friend
    • Bob's blog
Illinois HB182 and HB3714 waiting for signature
« on: June 01, 2009, 09:30:47 AM »
Believe it or not, in Illinois right now, it is a FELONY for you to go shooting at a buddy's farm. Not for him, but for you. Its also a FELONY to handle a loaded firearm at a buddy's home, or even to handle it unloaded if there is ammunition nearby. HB182 fixes this bizarre inequity in the law.

HB3714 removes the revocation of the FOID card for minor non-violent offenses where probation is the sentence.

Both bills recently passed both houses of the state legislature by wide margins, and is sitting on the governor's desk waiting for a signature.

If you are an Illinois citizen it is time to let the governor know how you feel about these bills.
bob

Disclaimers: I am not a lawyer, cop, soldier, gunsmith, politician, plumber, electrician, or a professional practitioner of many of the other things I comment on in this forum.

HankB

• friend
Re: Illinois HB182 and HB3714 waiting for signature
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2009, 09:47:54 AM »
. . . Its also a FELONY to handle a loaded firearm at a buddy's home, or even to handle it unloaded if there is ammunition nearby.
I grew up in Chicago . . . if this is the case, a lot of the people I grew up with and went hunting and shooting with were unwitting felons. (Of course, I never did such a thing . . . that's my story and I'm sticking to it.  :angel: )
Trump won in 2016. Democrats haven't been so offended since Republicans came along and freed their slaves.
Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it. - Mark Twain
Government is a broker in pillage, and every election is a sort of advance auction in stolen goods. - H.L. Mencken
Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain

ilbob

• friend