Author Topic: 4WD Adventures  (Read 5385 times)

Art Eatman

• friend
4WD Adventures
« on: June 18, 2005, 06:05:26 PM »
I've been playing in/with Toyota 4WD PUs since 1982.  Meddling around down in my country means going over some really rough country--and occasionally some wet stuff.

It occurred to me that I have a sort of a record:  I've crossed the Rio Grande when the water got above the headlights.  Some years later, I crossed Terlingua Creek with water above the headlights.  My buddy, watching and a tad nervous, said he wasn't sure I'd make it after the taillights went under.  But, I did. Cheesy

Anybody else have the occasional nervous moment?

Art
The American Indians learned what happens when you don't control immigration.

4WD Adventures
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2005, 07:14:23 PM »
I thought you were supposed to drive  across / down the creek to wash the mud off ...

Gee, It was normal to go 4-wheeling for something to do. I mean one can watch TV to see critters and have the phone ring - or do as we did, have the red and blue lights interupt the live animal viewing at night.

I mean I shot moving targets with a shotgun...if'n you want to learn to shoot "moving" targets with a rifle, you gotta shoot stationary targets out of moving vehicle. For "safety reasons" - one needs a 4wd to get back in the woods to shoot guns....that "know target and what behind it"  dealie....

Karman Gias are not 4wd. They will float you across the creek that rose a bit quick...the trick is to get a lot of speed, aim up creek and that way you only end up 6 blocks down the city park creek and can leave by driving thru the Pavillion - Well I figured the girl needed to actually understand what 'sealed bottom" meant...