Author Topic: Operation Bright Eyes - tattle tale utility workers spying on customers  (Read 26211 times)

KD5NRH

• friends
  • I'm too sexy for you people.
Re: Operation Bright Eyes - tattle tale utility workers spying on customers
« Reply #75 on: November 18, 2008, 12:58:17 PM »
What everybody here seems to be ignoring is that, anytime you let a person into your house, they can report anything they see to the Feds, the local PD, or the crackhead down the street.  I'd be willing to bet the crackhead pays better anyway.  If you don't like the idea, don't leave stuff out where they can see it.

When I was a service tech, and a couple of other jobs that required going through every nook and cranny of people's houses, we reported child abuse, animal abuse, and that was about it.  OTOH, there was no way the company could stop us from reporting anything we found suspicious to the proper authorities, who would then have the option of following up on it or not.  Frankly, even with my detailed inspections it wouldn't be hard for someone wih two brain cells to rub together to come up with several hundred cubic feet worth of places I still wouldn't need to look in the average house.

Now, as for false reports, IMO those should be handled as harshly as possible, but legitimate reports have been happening for a long time and will continue to happen.

gunsmith

• I forgot to get vaccinated!
  • friend
  • I'm sorry, Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that.
« Reply #76 on: November 20, 2008, 12:36:39 PM »
on the sub, sub topic of being seemingly condescending to "sixth grade" cable guys, let me reiterate, I was one!
except that I got my GED from uncle sam in 1978 at ft Gordon.

Some of my fellow cable guys were really smart tech wise but couldn't stop injecting illegal opiate products, others were alkies but unlike moi, they were not in AA.

Of the 20 I worked with 3 or 4 were normal non drug/alky regular joes.