Author Topic: SFD bans helmet cameras after filming the truck running over a crash victim  (Read 3106 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager
http://www.heraldnet.com/article/20130818/NEWS02/708189889#After-airliner-crash-S.F.-chief-bans-helmet-cams

As a risk manager, I am of the opinion that this sort of video is usually more helpful than harmful in liability situations.  I have no problem with the concept of helmet cams, dash cams, cameras worn by police, people filming the birth of their baby, etc.  As long as you respect the privacy issues and personal preference (for example, many hospital staff refuse to be filmed), my experience has been that the video can often be of benefit if things go wrong and a subsequent claim is filed.

Quote from: Angel Eyes on August 09, 2018, 01:56:15 AM
You are one lousy risk manager.

Tallpine

• friends
  • Grumpy Old Grandpa
She must have great faith in the training and effectiveness of her FD  ;/
Freedom is a heavy load, a great and strange burden for the spirit to undertake. It is not easy. It is not a gift given, but a choice made, and the choice may be a hard one. The road goes upward toward the light; but the laden traveller may never reach the end of it.  - Ursula Le Guin

Levant

• friend
This shows clear intent to deceive the public.  THey weren't concerned about privacy before running over a crash victim.  Without a camera, they would certainly have lied about this case, too.  In fact, they told a different story until the camera video was requested.  We can't be sure if it was because they truly didn't know the story or if they didn't know they couldn't suppress the video.

This is one of the most blatant abuses of government I have heard in a long time.  If government truly believes that privacy counts more than video I suppose we won't be seeing those drones in the USA after all.
NEOKShooter on GRM
Republicans: The other Democratic Party

AJ Dual

• friends