Author Topic: Flying horses...seriously...  (Read 3844 times)

digitalandanalog

• friend
Flying horses...seriously...
« on: February 06, 2009, 01:08:23 AM »
If a pegasus were real, what kind of wing span would it have to have in order to fly?

Just wondering. What good is an imagination if you can't ask silly questions from time to time?

RocketMan

• Mad Rocket Scientist
  • friend
  • Semper Fidelis
Re: Flying horses...seriously...
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2009, 01:11:54 AM »
Dang fool silly question, anywho.  =D

I'd bet there isn't a configuration that would allow one to fly.  But then, I am not an aeronautical engineer, nor have I played on on TV.
If there really was intelligent life on other planets, we'd be sending them foreign aid.

Conservatives see George Orwell's "1984" as a cautionary tale.  Progressives view it as a "how to" manual.

My wife often says to me, "You are evil and must be destroyed." She may be right.

Liberals believe one should never let reason, logic and facts get in the way of a good emotional argument.

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2009, 02:32:43 AM »
No flying animal has 4 legs and wings. Wings replace front legs, and must by necessity. If you have enough muscle to work the wings not enough would remain for the front legs. Enough for the front legs, not enough for the wings. Enough for both, too heavy.

And they'd be too heavy anyway, no hollow bones and all the other things about birds that make them light enough to fly.
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

digitalandanalog

• friend
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 03:10:12 AM »
Thank you, balog, for the elementary science lesson...I am not retarded.

I want to know what kind of wingspan it would take to let a freakin' horse fly.