Author Topic: I'm really thinking of refinancing  (Read 745 times)

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
I'm really thinking of refinancing
« on: September 30, 2011, 11:18:39 AM »
We've been at our house for a bit over a year, both still solidly employed at the same company and making more now than we did when we got the loan with excellent credit. Rate is a solid but unspectacular %5 on a 30 year fixed VA guaranteed loan. I'm still a newb at all this, so I don't even know where to start. Contact the current bank that services the loan? The bank that originated it? One of the elevnty billion companies sending me letters asking me if I want to refinance?
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

Brad Johnson

• friend
  • Witty, charming, handsome, and completely insane.
Re: I'm really thinking of refinancing
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 11:22:16 AM »
Rates on a no-buydown, no-points fixed 30 are hovering at around 4% right now.  Unless you plan on staying in your house more than 7-10 years, you won't save enough to cover the cost of the refi.

Also, refinincing from 5% to 4% will only save you a whopping $58 per $100k mortgage value.

Brad
It's all about the pancakes, people.
"And he thought cops wouldn't chase... a STOLEN DONUT TRUCK???? That would be like Willie Nelson ignoring a pickup full of weed."
-HankB

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 11:24:31 AM »
Rates on a no-buydown, no-points fixed 30 are hovering at around 4% right now.  Unless you plan on staying in your house more than 7-10 years, you won't save enough to cover the cost of the refi.

Also, refinincing from 5% to 4% will only save you a whopping $58 per $100k mortgage value.

Brad