Author Topic: Electrician Apprenticeship  (Read 1023 times)

mgdavis

• friend
Electrician Apprenticeship
« on: October 09, 2007, 11:12:31 AM »
I've been doing some more thinking about what I want to do with my life. I have mostly ruled out turbine generator mechanic at this point, I really don't feel that I am anywhere close to qualified for that niche field. However, looking at that got me thinking about what trades are in demand.
It seems to me that Electricians are always going to be able to find work. I discovered that there is an Apprentice School, Puget Sound Electrical JATC, located in Renton. They have several programs, including a five year Construction Apprenticeship. This seems like a field that I could get into. It pays well also, as an apprentice I would start at $14.77/hr and work my way up to $31.39/hr while in school. They claim that the going rate for a Journeyman Electrician is almost $40/hr.
Is anyone here an Electrician? Got any input? I'm nervous about being trapped near Renton for five years, I really don't care for that side of the water. Is there any reason that I really shouldn't want to do this? I'm semi-concerned about the math required. Algebra failed to interest me in school, so I didn't retain much of it.

charby

• Necromancer
  • Administrator
  • APS's Resident Sikh/Muslim
Re: Electrician Apprenticeship
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 11:20:54 AM »
Check out the local IBEW union and see what they have in terms of apprenticeships.

My father is master electrican and I once thought about doing the union program while I was frustrated about trying to find a better job before I found my current occupation.

-C
Iowa- 88% more livable that the rest of the US

Uranus is a gas giant.

Team 444: Member# 536

mgdavis

• friend
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 11:23:12 AM »
If I read correctly, the school is essentially run by the union.

mtnbkr

• friend
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 11:25:55 AM »