Author Topic: Is there a Word expert among us?  (Read 636 times)

Hawkmoon

• friend
Is there a Word expert among us?
« on: October 21, 2022, 01:47:01 AM »
I need some help. I was sent a document that is FILLED with mark-up and change tracking data. I know how to hide it, but every time I open the document again, that stuff is displayed. If I'm not careful, it also tries to print that when I print.

The thing is, I'm not in the document creating  and editing team. It was sent to me for use as a source document. I want to remove all that extraneous information. I have looked on-line for an answer, but every article that claims to explain how to remove it ... doesn't. All they tell me is how to hide it.

I want that stuff GONE. Is there a way to do that?
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

zxcvbob

• friend
Re: Is there a Word expert among us?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2022, 02:08:27 AM »
I'm not an expert but I know what you're talking about.  Here's what I found:  https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/hide-markup-and-comments-in-word-2e998c33-c097-52e0-9b59-7f588d9c34a5
TL;DR: you need to finalize the document, either accept or reject all the changes.  (I've never done that)

It also might work to export it to another format that doesn't support markups, like maybe Rich Text Format?  Or you can "publish" it to PDF.
"It's good, though..."

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2022, 07:34:11 AM »
As far as I know, if there are tracked changes in a document, Word will always open with those changed displayed, no matter what display state the document was in when it was last saved/closed.

If you just want to hide the changes temporarily you  go into the Review ribbon and click Track Changes (in the Tracking group) to unhighlight it and then, in the same group, click the arrow next to All Markup and select either Simple Markup or No Markup.