Author Topic: Stupid Vehicle Maintenance Question - Never Seize  (Read 411 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Stupid Vehicle Maintenance Question - Never Seize
« on: October 24, 2022, 06:25:01 PM »
This might be a really stupid question, but would there be any reason not to put never-seize on differential and transfer case plugs? I've never done it before when changing the fluids, but I'm about to do it for the first time in my new climate and was thinking about road salts, etc maybe making those plugs hard to get off 30,000 miles from now.

I guess a concern would be that the never seize might actually let the plugs loosen up with vibration?
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

dogmush

• friend
Re: Stupid Vehicle Maintenance Question - Never Seize
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2022, 06:44:36 PM »
Drain plugs are often taper threads, and seal on the taper. If I was going to put anything on them, I'd use teflon tape.

Although,  we never used anything  on the plugs in hydraulic fluid tanks on the outside of ships. Just ran them in and painted them.  I suspect that's way more salt than you get.

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2022, 06:48:50 PM »
Drain plugs are often taper threads, and seal on the taper. If I was going to put anything on them, I'd use teflon tape.

Although,  we never used anything  on the plugs in hydraulic fluid tanks on the outside of ships. Just ran them in and painted them.  I suspect that's way more salt than you get.

I reckon so.  =D

Okay, maybe I'll just skip it then. This is for my 4Runner. By the time 30K rolls around again,  I may have a hankerin' for a 6th gen anyway.  :laugh:
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

bedlamite

• Hold my beer and watch this!
  • friend
  • Ack! PLBTTPHBT!
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2022, 07:01:07 PM »