Author Topic: Which caliber for HD AR pistol?  (Read 1473 times)

Perd Hapley

• Superstar of the Internet
  • friend
  • My prepositions are on/in
Which caliber for HD AR pistol?
« on: February 26, 2022, 12:55:21 AM »
I'm looking for articles on the best caliber for a home defense AR pistol. Apparently 5.56 is now considered less of a risk for over-penetration than shotguns or pistol rounds? But do .300 BLK or .350 Legend accomplish the same thing with less noise/flash?
"Doggies are angel babies!" -- my wife

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Re: Which caliber for HD AR pistol?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2022, 07:52:07 AM »
I'm not a big expert, but I'm using .300BO for the house carbine, both for its (from what I have researched) better performance than 5.56 out of a short barrel, and because of how well the .300BO subsonic works with a can in front.

I recently bought a 7.62x39 upper just for a range gun, but have also been reading that some consider it a cheaper alternative to .300BO with nearly the same benefits. I haven't researched enough to know how accurate that is, and I don't think I've ever seen subsonic 7.62x39 on the shelves.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

Bogie

• friend
  • Hunkered in South St. Louis, right by Route 66
    • Third Rate Pundit
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2022, 10:00:38 AM »
Why not just get a glock with a gigglestick or two? The only real advantage for an AR pistol in home defense is the magazine capacity, and the whole package is kinda big and unwieldy.
Blog under construction

Boomhauer

• Former Moderator, fired for embezzlement and abuse of power
  • friends
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2022, 10:03:16 AM »
Why not just get a glock with a gigglestick or two? The only real advantage for an AR pistol in home defense is the magazine capacity, and the whole package is kinda big and unwieldy.

I’m guessing he means an AR pistol with a brace.