Author Topic: My "girls" lit me up today!  (Read 934 times)

RoadKingLarry

• friends
My "girls" lit me up today!
« on: March 02, 2022, 03:20:23 PM »
I've been keeping bees with marginal success for 6 years now. I've mowed around them, I've sat and watched them for extended periods photographed them and worked them with no issues. Haven't had any issues being around them tending the garden and blueberry bushes close to the hives. I've only been stung maybe half a dozen times total since starting with the bees and that was when working them. I've never had much reaction from the stings other than a little localized swelling and itching after the initial "sting" of the sting. Usually a mosquito bite causes me more irritation.

I went into winter with 5 hives and this morning confirmed all five have survived the winter.
I've been using a 5 gallon poultry waterer as a spring feeder for a couple of years. I filled it today (1/1 sugar syrup) and set it out about 10:00 am.
The hives are on the periphery of my 1/4 acre garden plots. I went down after lunch on my mower to do a little clean up mowing of the garden debris left from last season and the girls absolutely lit me up! Not sure it it was the mower that set them off or what, but they were all over me in seconds and I had to turn it around and beat a hasty retreat out of there. Couple of stings on my face and neck and several on my arms and back through my t-shirt and 4 on my hands.

As a precaution I took some Benadryl and then had my wife extract the stingers from my face and neck. As soon as I've decided I'm not going to have any major adverse reaction I'm going to suit up and light a smoker and walk down to the bee yard and see if I get the same reaction just walking in.

I'm really hoping I'm not going to have to work that garden plot in a bee suit all year.