Author Topic: Innernets connectivity question.  (Read 1797 times)

Perd Hapley

• Superstar of the Internet
  • friend
  • My prepositions are on/in
Innernets connectivity question.
« on: June 05, 2012, 11:10:33 PM »
I finally retired the DSL modem I've been using since 2003, in favor of a U-Verse residential gateway from AT&T. (Internet and VOIP, no TV.)

Since the old set-up never seemed to do better than about 150 Kbps, according to Firefox's pop-up window when downloading files, I figured the low-end, 3Mbps package would be a considerable increase in speed, while accomplishing the main objective of reducing our monthly payment.

Now, Firefox is reporting that downloads come in at about 350 Kbps. Right now, the gateway is claiming to provide 13,200 Kbps for downloads, 1528Kbps for uploads. I don't remember the speed the old modem claimed to deliver, which is why I'm using the Firefox figures for comparison.

So is one of these numbers the actual speed of my connection, or how should I understand these numbers?

Thanks.

Also, is it a good idea to SSID, or not to SSID? That is the other question.

« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 12:05:10 AM by fistful »
"Doggies are angel babies!" -- my wife

Harold Tuttle

• Professor Chromedome
  • friend
Re: Innernets connectivity question.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 11:26:28 PM »
"The true mad scientist does not make public appearances! He does not wear the "Hello, my name is.." badge!
He strikes from below like a viper or on high like a penny dropped from the tallest building around!
He only has one purpose--Do bad things to good people! Mit science! What good is science if no one gets hurt?!"

Perd Hapley

• friend
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2012, 11:36:42 PM »

vaskidmark

• National Anthem Snob
  • friends
  • WTF?
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2012, 06:37:03 AM »
35.01 download, 5.01 upload on Comcast broadband (only because it's the only thing I can get besides dial-up).

It isn't all that bad - most of the time.