Author Topic: R.I.P Obamacare  (Read 3188 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Re: R.I.P Obamacare
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2018, 04:34:33 PM »
Might be the commie in me, but I'm not at all opposed to preventative care incentives - at least for basic and important stuff. While I'm fine paying for the annual physical myself, I know that I'm an oddball in that regard compared to the norm, so if insurance companies find it beneficial to do free annual physicals and blood screenings, I'm good with them catching stuff ahead of time to both treat in time and to lower costs.

I'm also fine with VOLUNTARY incentives like remote medical monitoring, which with advancements in wearable tech is going to be much more mainstream, IMO. While I might not want the insurance tracking everything I do, I might be fine with something like average pulse and blood pressure. In fact comparing the watch I've been wearing for the last four months to what the PA gets on my resting heartbeat when they rush me into the exam room (55 vs 70), I could see the benefits to my health insurance costs.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

MechAg94

• friend
« Reply #26 on: December 17, 2018, 05:00:00 PM »
Manage this the same way that vehicle insurance is managed.

Drive well and with a good record, your vehicle insurance is low.

In the same way, demonstrate physical fitness and care for your body, and you get lower health insurance rates.  Gym members, proven hobbyist athletes, martial artists and such, who disclose their activities to their health insurer along with a yearly physical exam, get better rates than the reddit dwelling cheezypoof eating, vaping 50 year old trigglypuff.