Author Topic: $ 100,000 in the hole for an education with little to show for it.  (Read 5899 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager

Quote from: Angel Eyes on August 09, 2018, 01:56:15 AM
You are one lousy risk manager.

nico

• friend
I graduated from dental school a week ago and have just under $250k in loans.  I never would have gotten myself into this much debt if I didn't have a realistic expectation of getting a job where I could pay them back.  Friends of mine who got jobs straight out of school (I'm doing a residency) are going to be making anywhere from $50-75/hour and the thought of the ~$2500+/month loan payment is still scary.  

I can't imagine getting all that debt without having a very good idea of what I'd be doing/how much I'd be making once I graduated.

Perd Hapley

• Superstar of the Internet
  • friend
  • My prepositions are on/in
I get tired of this assigning blame to creditors.  Creditors sell money like J.C. Penny sells slacks. If I wrote a hot check to J.C. Penny, they would be the victim. Why is it different for businesses that sell money?
"Doggies are angel babies!" -- my wife

roo_ster

• Kakistocracy--It's What's For Dinner.
  • friend
  • Hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats
No degree is ever useless if a person puts it to good use.

I don't know the lady in the article, so obviously I'm guessing a bit.  But it sounds like she doesn't intend to try to make good use of her degree.  As she's saying she thinks she wasted a decade and wishes she could turn her degree back in.  She could try to use it to get into writing, administration, academia, etc. 

She'll get a job in local, state, or fed.gov.
Regards,

roo_ster

“Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions.”
----G.K. Chesterton

MicroBalrog

• friend
Good colleges and universities don't offer interdisciplinary degrees in tripe like "religious and womens's studies."  I

http://www.hds.harvard.edu/prse/