Author Topic: I suppose I should be shocked  (Read 225 times)

Hawkmoon

• friend
I suppose I should be shocked
« on: March 07, 2023, 08:34:08 PM »
But I'm not.

In my part-time gig as a building inspector, I review plans. Recently, we have received permit applications for two pre-engineered steel buildings. The way those work is, the steel frame and everything from the column bases up is designed by engineers working for the steel building manufacturer. They calculate all the loads that will be applied to the bases of the columns (vertical down, vertical uplift due to wind, and horizontal due to wind or seismic). A local engineer then designs the foundation to resist those loads.

The foundation for one of them (the larger one, a warehouse that will be 60' x 100') was designed by an engineer we don't particularly like or trust, and I had a LOT of questions about some details in his foundation. The other, smaller building (45' x 60') had the foundation designed by a different engineer ... but the site/civil engineering was done by engineer #1. It turns out that became significant.

I was talking to the boss this morning about the smaller project, because engineer #1 told the owner he had submitted new plans to me on February 24, and I didn't receive anything from him on the 24th ... nor on the 22nd, 23rd, 25th, or 26th. In the course of my chat with the boss, though, I realized that building #2 had started out as a wood frame, two-story structure and then changed to a one-story, pre-engineered shell to save money. I had never looked closely at the new foundation drawings because we generally trust the engineer who drew them.

So this afternoon I pulled them out and looked at them. And some of the details looked ... er, um ... shall we say "familiar"? So I pulled out the plans for building #1 and looked at the foundation details sheet.

IDENTICAL.