Author Topic: Odd customer phone call  (Read 11383 times)

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
Odd customer phone call
« on: April 14, 2010, 12:55:35 AM »
Nothing earth-shattering in this story, just another weird customer.

A foreign-sounding guy (Arab or Indian, I think) called about a scope, a 6-24x40mm scope. He had all sorts of questions that I soon realized were absolute newbie questions: what does "field of view" mean; what do the "6" and the "24" in "6-24" mean; what does the "40" mean; what is meant by 1/8 MOA adjustment, etc.

Despite me running late for getting to the post office, I spent probably half an hour explaining everything to the guy. I also spent a great deal of time trying to talk him out of buying this $500 scope and getting a less costly 3-9x, because he planned on using it for deer hunting. I tried to explain that even the 6x magnification might be too much if he's hunting deer at short range or in heavy foliage.

Didn't matter. He was interested in the 6-24. He then told me, in his very broken english, how all of his friends made fun of him last year because he didn't have a scope on his rifle. Then it made sense. He wanted a bigger, more powerful scope to show them up. I don't think he was even considering whether or not he'd shoot a deer. He just wanted the biggest scope.

After all that time, and my crash course on optics, he decided to do more shopping around. I suspect he's looking for some retailer who'll tell him that a high-power scope is perfect for deer hunting.

People are weird.

S. Williamson

• formerly Dionysusigma
  • friends
  • It's not the years, it's the mileage.
Re: Odd customer phone call
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2010, 01:21:42 AM »
Some people seek knowledge.

Others seek affirmation.
"The chances of finding out what's really going on are so remote, the only thing to do is hang the sense of it and keep yourself occupied. I'd far rather be happy than right any day."