Author Topic: Any machinists/HSM's around?  (Read 2341 times)

TMM

• friend
Any machinists/HSM's around?
« on: October 22, 2009, 04:16:30 PM »
Hey all...

i've been getting into metal milling/lathing etc... i have a machine shop class i'm taking (i'm majoring in mechanical engineering in college) that is giving me some fundamentals in machining, and i'd love to tinker more. i was kicking around the idea of getting a cross-slide vise like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Grizzly-G1064-Cross-Sliding-Vise/dp/B0000DD0C7/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1256241567&sr=1-10

or this:

http://www.amazon.com/Shop-Fox-D2731-4-Inch-Sliding/dp/B0000DD1S8/ref=sr_1_25?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1256241830&sr=1-25

for my drill press so i can tinker in my workshop at home. yea, i know, a real milling machine would be great, but i don't have the money or space for a real milling machine (yet!). my drill press is a 500-3100rpm infinitely variable speed benchtop Delta. i also have an unassembled Craftsman of some sort but i think it's single-speed or stepped-pulley(haven't even taken it out of the box yet).

anyway. i'd like some input/opinions etc. on my idea and vise selections. i'd like a vise with a decent measurement gradients (doubt my tolerances will need to be very fine, but in an ideal world it would be marked every 0.010" or so. i'm a perfectionist.), preferrably $100 or less (any more and i might as well buy a small milling machine from harbor freight).

what say you?

thanks

TMM

Nick1911

• Administrator
Re: Any machinists/HSM's around?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2009, 04:19:31 PM »
what say you?

Drill press bearings aren't designed to handle side loads.  You'll very quickly damage the spindle bearings by trying to mill using a drill press.  :|

Harbor freight has some mills in the 3-400 dollar price range which would be infinity better suited for the purpose.

Gewehr98

• friend
  • Yee-haa!
    • Neural Misfires (Blog)
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2009, 04:22:50 PM »