Author Topic: Any Homebrewers?  (Read 2037 times)

jeepmor

• friend
Any Homebrewers?
« on: September 17, 2007, 04:17:52 AM »
Someone mentioned beer and it got me thinking.  I haven't homebrewed in two months....  I'm an extract homebrewer.  I don't see the need to go to all grain simply because it takes more time, more equipment, and doesn't yield markedly better beer IMO.  However, if I was making a living at it, all grain is much, much cheaper to produce en masse.

That said, any favorite recipes out there?  I'm an IPA and Pale ale man myself, and living in Portland, Oregon, I can say I've been drinking microbrews almost exclusively for over 10+ years now.  Not to be a beer snob...but, okay, I'm a beersnob. cool  Most of the stuff out of Milwaukie is affectionately referred to as panther piss in my area.  Don't get me wrong, there's still of ton of this crap sold in this area, but something like 68% of the money spent on beer in this area goes to the microbrewers.

One of my favorite recipes is this one.  If you like hoppy beers, you'll like this one.  If you ever visited a McMenamin's in the PNW, this is a close cousin to Hammerhead Pale Ale.

12 oz English Crystal Malt
7lbs Light Malt Extract

Steep grains in cheesecloth bag in about 2 gallons of cold water and heat until it reaches 180-190F. Stir and work grain sock well to insure good malt flavoring, once temp achieved, remove sock of  grain.  Pour in extract, bring to boil, remove from heat repeatedly to keep the frothy foam from making one great big sticky mess on your stove.  Once it settles down and just boils, start a 1 hour timer and add your hops.

Hop schedule (60 minute boil)
1/2 oz Columbus Hops (60min left)
1/2 oz Cascade Hops (30min left)
1/4 oz Columbus Hops (10min left)
1/4 oz Cascade Hops (5min left)