Author Topic: My First Muzzleloader Hunt  (Read 762 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
My First Muzzleloader Hunt
« on: December 23, 2006, 04:43:21 PM »
So it wasn't big game, only dove, but what a blast!

I've been shooting BP for a few years now, with a Lyman GPR and an 1851 Navy revolver. Always just target shooting or plinking. I'm always thinking about taking the GPR out for pig, but just never get around to doing it.

So for my birthday a few days ago, I got a Cabela's BP 12 gauge SxS (the Pedrosolli made one). First thing I did after I figured loading out ( a bit different than a rifle) was to grab the dog and head for the winter wheat field at my folks' place. The doves are getting sparse and skittish now, but they're still out there. Stand hunting doesn't work right now -- you have to walk them up (and it's a lot of walking). So we scared our first dove up, pretty much out of range, but we both hunkered down, and pretty soon he did a 180 heading back towards us. He got in range, I pulled back a hammer, got him in my sights, pulled the trigger, and he kept on going. Rats -- the gun is still new and I pulled on the wrong trigger! Oh well. The next one though, came flying in over some citrus trees on an adjoining property. Got him in my sights, pulled the trigger (remembered which was which this time!) and with a big plume of smoke and a blackpowder "thu-a-whump!" he dropped right out of the sky, and my dog actually did a classic retrieve instead of her usual squirrely comedy act.