Author Topic: Electric fence charger/controller  (Read 7399 times)

Boomhauer

• Former Moderator, fired for embezzlement and abuse of power
  • friends
Electric fence charger/controller
« on: March 24, 2009, 09:36:12 PM »
We need a new fence controller to power about 2 or 3 miles of electric fencing. It needs to be suitable for heavy weed/grass areas (I think the low impedance controllers are for this), run off of AC power, and either have lighting protection or easily protected against lighting (which fried our old controller). And it'd be nice if it did all this for under $100.

I'm not an expert in picking out a suitable model. What say you, denizens of APS?
Quote from: Ben
Holy hell. It's like giving a loaded gun to a chimpanzee...

Quote from: bluestarlizzard
the last thing you need is rabies. You're already angry enough as it is.

OTOH, there wouldn't be a tweeker left in Georgia...

Quote from: Balog
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE! AND THROW SOME STEAK ON THE GRILL!

CNYCacher

• friend
Re: Electric fence charger/controller
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2009, 12:40:51 AM »

On two occasions, I have been asked [by members of Parliament], "Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?" I am not able to rightly apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question.
Charles Babbage

never_retreat

• Head Muckety Muck
  • friend
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2009, 08:34:23 AM »
I was thinking something more like this if you have large livestock/ pest problems.
I needed a mod to change my signature because the concept of "family friendly" eludes me.
Just noticed that a mod changed my signature. How long ago was that?
A few months-mods

Boomhauer

• friends
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2009, 10:37:01 AM »