Author Topic: Moving out for the first time  (Read 7165 times)

member1313

Moving out for the first time
« on: September 13, 2007, 08:52:35 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a member at THR and I was told about APS by one of the mods here, and I figured I'd be better off posting this here than anywhere else.

Here goes. I'm a college student. I have little money, and am not really a fan of working while I'm taking classes. I think it's more important to put my education first, so that I don't have to spend the rest of my life working meaningless jobs like the ones I would be taking right now. I hope to get a job over the summer, and just save as much as I can, but I still worry about

I'm a psychology major, and I'm honestly hoping to get my bachelor's in two years, then go on and get my Ph.D. and become a college professor. I honestly think that type of job would be perfect for me: I have power, but not even where I would need to worry about becoming an officious jerk, and I would be doing something I like: helping others and talking about a topic I enjoy.

But I honestly question if it's worth it. I mean, I honestly want to be moving out of my mom's house within a few years. I want my own place. I want my privacy. I want to have a stable place I can call my own without fear of judgment from others.

I'm not sure how I could possibly move out with no money while trying to pursue a graduate degree.

So what the hell can I do? How do other people do it? Am I just stuck living at home until I'm almost 30? Or is there something I'm missing?

I'm under the impression many of you are older than I, so I'm hoping for the experience of others to help me out here. And please be kind--I'm new here. Smiley

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
Re: Moving out for the first time
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2007, 10:48:22 PM »
Rob87, you just posted an invitation to a real whuppin'. And I'm the nice guy. Wink