Author Topic: Thinking of a new hobby: Guitars and guitar help.  (Read 16233 times)

Ryan in Maine

• friend
Thinking of a new hobby: Guitars and guitar help.
« on: April 02, 2008, 07:26:20 PM »
I don't know a thing about guitars except "Gibson" and "Fender", but I've really been in need of a new hobby and playing guitar is at the top of the list. It seems like a great creative outlet while giving you a meditative quality and incredibly beautiful instruments. I'm also guessing I'll be self-taught/learning at my own pace, so something easy to learn on and grow into would be ideal. I'd also like your opinion on what models you think would make the top of the "best buy on a short budget" and "best bang for your buck without necessarily being cheap" categories. I'm open to recommendations for electrics, electracoustics, and acoustics.

To be up front, all I've done so far is looked at Gibson's and Fender's websites.

For electric, I obviously like Gibson's Les Paul and Flying V models, and Fender's Stratocaster models. Unfortunately they're not in my targeted budget of "affordable" beginner models. I have no idea what the benchmarks for electracoustic or acoustic would be. They all look the same to me.

So if you have the time, I'd appreciate any recommendations for a beginner, and maybe some technovocab to give me an idea of what components control what sounds on a guitar. I don't know anything about amps and enclosures, cables, tuners, cleaning products, pickups, or strings either. Pretty much clueless on everything, but I can't shake the allure.

P.S. I'm also aware that Gibson has Epiphone and Fender has Squier. Would that be a better path to take?

P.P.S. For a little background to help make a recommendation, I'm 5'8", kind of slim, and have smallish hands. My favorite current guitarists are John Frusciante and Jack White, but I also respect my elders like Eric Clapton and Jimi Hendrix.

The Annoyed Man

Re: Thinking of a new hobby: Guitars and guitar help.