Author Topic: Main water shut off valve... doesn't.  (Read 4024 times)

Nick1911

• Administrator
Main water shut off valve... doesn't.
« on: September 02, 2008, 05:47:13 PM »
So the main water shut off valve in my house doesn't actually shut off the water.  It's a gate valve, and cranked down all the way either way doesn't seem to affect the water pressure at all.

There's about 3" of 3/4 inch galvanized steel pipe sticking out of the foundation.  Then there is a galvanized steel gate valve that routs the water 90 degrees.  From there, it turns to a copper water pipe which feeds the house.  I think the copper to valve is a flare fitting, but I'm not really sure.

How much of a pain in the a$$ is this going to be?  What tools and strategies should I use?  I'm thinking 2 big pipe wrenches, working against each other to keep from damaging the steel supply pipe.  That said, I've never done this before. Huh?

Stevie-Ray

Re: Main water shut off valve... doesn't.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008, 08:04:00 PM »
What exactly are you wanting to do? Replace the supply valve? If it's the main or first one (there's usually 2) your only option is to have the main supply shut off by a licensed plumber or the water dept. It's usually out in your front yard. When my copper replumbing job was done, the plumber had to use a pipe wrench to turn off the main at the floor. Didn't think he was going to be able to do it. He said the only other recourse was the main in the front yard. He got it with the pipe wrench, though. Now, of course the second gate valve has been replaced by a butterfly valve, and those are simple to open/close.
On Sarah Palin.....The screeching moonbats, whose daily lives are a swamp of discontent, fault finding, anger, angst and every other dark emotion embraced by the left, can't stand to see someone who is normal and enjoying life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.....grampster

280plus

• friend
  • Ever get that sinking feeling?