Author Topic: Where can I learn the basics of still photography?  (Read 3637 times)

Winston Smith

• friends
  • Cheaper than a locksmith
    • My Photography
Where can I learn the basics of still photography?
« on: March 13, 2005, 09:01:53 AM »
I was hanging out with my friend Brian (ex navy) and we were shutterbugging around the Stanford campus, and he was telling me about "F" settings and lighting, shutter speed, lens aperture etcetera. Now I know a little abotu these things, (I'm in my third year of a film/video arts program, but we do motion picture exclusively.) I was wondering if you guys could direct me to a forum where they won't eat me alive for asking stupid questions, or maybe just a website with the basics.

Now, whats  good entry level digital camera, if I'm looking for portability, low cost, yet with enough settings and gadgets to make it worthwhile to learn all this stuff?
Jack
APS #22
I'm eighteen years old. I know everything and I'm invincible.
Right?

mtnbkr

• friend
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2005, 11:06:36 AM »
Photo.net isn't bad.  I highly recommend www.kenrockwell.com (not a forum, but a page put up by a Ken Rockwell to share what he's learned).  His delivery is a bit pointed, but spot on.  It's very Nikon oriented, but the basics are universal.  

You might start here: http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech.htm#technique

Can't help you on digital.  I'm not a fan.

Chris

Unisaw

• friend
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2005, 01:10:31 PM »
An oldie but goodie is Developing the Creative Edge in Photography by Bert Eifer.  It's available from Amazon.
Well, if you have the sudden urge to lick your balls you'll know you got the veterinary version... K Frame

Brad Johnson

• friend
  • Witty, charming, handsome, and completely insane.
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2005, 11:14:29 AM »