Author Topic: Is there a Doctor in the house? Statin drug question  (Read 1438 times)

DrAmazon

• friend
Is there a Doctor in the house? Statin drug question
« on: October 29, 2005, 04:18:55 PM »
Hi all.  I'm wondering if there are any MD or DOs in the house who wouldn't mind answering some questions for me about the Statin class of cholesterol lowering drugs.  I've got some concerns about some recent prescription decisions that my Mom's Doc has made in the past few months and would like to know if my concerns are valid enough to merit giving the guy a call.  

Once contact is made, we can have the "conversation" off forum.

Thanx
Experiment with a chemist!

280plus

• friend
  • Ever get that sinking feeling?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2005, 02:08:08 AM »
Well, I'm no doctor (nor do I play one one TV) but I know I've tried almost every statin out there and none of them agree with me. I wish I had an answer for you. Go to a few health sites and research cholesterol. Some have chat forums on the subject where the patients are more informed than their doctors. Personally I think they (doctors) are pushing the stuff. I get the feeling they get a cut of the action or something. While some tolerate the drugs very well others don't. My experiences were unexplained muscle weakness and pain and a general feeling of lethargy or fatigue. Funny though, as soon as I stopped taking any of the various brands all my ill feelings stopped. Within  a couple of days of starting one particular brand ( I don't recall which) I was suddenly lacking the motivation to keep up my exercise regimen. How can THAT be good? I told the doctor I'd rather live a short life and feel good than live a long one feeling miserable every day. He agrees.