Author Topic: My plan for the Republicans to get us out of the recession  (Read 12544 times)

makattak

• Dark Lord of the Cis
  • friend
My plan for the Republicans to get us out of the recession
« on: February 06, 2009, 09:01:40 AM »
Alright, now, as I've said before, I'm an economist, so I hope people don't get too overwhelmed by the technical details of this plan.

Republicans in the House and Senate, I have the answer that will get us out of the recession far faster than any Obama and Democrat plan.

Listen carefully, now.

Here's what you need to do:

STALL.

That's it. Stall EVERYTHING as much as you possibly can. Hold up every single vote in the Senate. Don't let anything get by.

Normal recessions last around 12-14 months. According to numbers, this mild recession has lasted close to a year now. (This one is likely to last a little longer thanks to the previous "bailout" package)

As for the suffering, the govenment just reported that the jobless rate is 7.6% http://money.cnn.com/2009/02/06/markets/bondcenter/credit/?postversion=2009020608

SEVEN POINT SIX PERCENT.

Economists think the natural rate of unemployment (rate an economy needs to survive and grow) is between 4-6%.

That means we have between 3.6% and 1.6% of unhealthy unemployment.

Seriously, stop panicking.

The economy needs time to adjust to mal-investment. We need to allow the bad companies to be weeded out so that better companies can use their resources (some of those resources being PEOPLE).

Things need to hurt for a little while. Attempting to "alleviate the suffering" will only prolong it.

So there's your mission Republicans. Stall. Stall for all you are worth.

I promise, if you can stall for this next year, EVERYONE will be much better off.
I wish the Ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.