Author Topic: netbook  (Read 4001 times)

ilbob

• friend
    • Bob's blog
netbook
« on: March 19, 2009, 03:58:32 PM »
I have been thinking of getting one.

Any suggestions?

They all seem to use what looks to be a 1.6 Gz Atom CPU. never heard of it.

Prefer to stay with XP, as that where the software I like tends to be.
bob

Disclaimers: I am not a lawyer, cop, soldier, gunsmith, politician, plumber, electrician, or a professional practitioner of many of the other things I comment on in this forum.

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
Re: netbook
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2009, 03:59:15 PM »
I hear good things about the eeePC.
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

Iain

• friend
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2009, 04:04:34 PM »
Several factors to consider - price, screen size and keyboard size being the main things. SSD or hard drive being another. The new Samsung 12" model uses the new Via cpu and it seems quite promising but perhaps not a huge improvement over the Atom.

I've got an Aspire One that I really like, but I am sort of tempted to get a 12" model at some point.
I do not like, when with me play, and I think that you also

mtnbkr

• friend
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2009, 04:04:57 PM »
I had problems with my MIL's eeePC running Linux (familiar with Linux, the damn thing just wouldn't work right) and no problem at all with the Acer Aspire (running XP) we replaced it with.  If I were buying one for myself right now, it would probably be the Aspire.

Chris

Balog

• friends
  • What if we tried more?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2009, 04:07:03 PM »
Can it still really be considered a netbook at 12"?

If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager