Author Topic: Beer Summit...the choices so far....  (Read 3871 times)

seeker_two

• friend
  • In short, most intelligence is false.
Beer Summit...the choices so far....
« on: July 30, 2009, 06:09:14 PM »
http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2009/07/30/carolyn-smagalski-beer-summit-obama/

Carolyn Smagalski 
 - FOXNews.com
 - July 30, 2009
Making Peace Over a Beer

If there is one Band-Aid that has the ability to resuscitate the heart of the American people on all levels, it is beer, whether we admit it or not.

As a beer journalist, I have often wondered what it would take to recognize beer as the international peace maker throughout the world --as the Great Ambassador of Good Will. What would it take to merge three unlikely Americans from different worlds -- the president of the United States, a sergeant in the Cambridge police department, and a Harvard University professor-- in a relaxed atmosphere of open and candid conversation?

When Sergeant James Crowley of the Cambridge Police Department left for work on July 16, 2009, he had no idea his actions of the day would lead to a beer in the White House. Even more preposterous is the idea that the Harvard Professor Henry Louis Gates Jr., Director of the W.E. B. DuBois Institute for African and African-American Research, would be joining him.

This incident, burning through the nation like a California wildfire--  the media asking questions about racial profiling and the expectations of deferential treatment for the upper class-- has effectively been quenched by beer. How quaint!

Cast the incident aside. There will always be people feeling victimized and misunderstood on both sides. If there is one Band-Aid that has the ability to resuscitate the heart of the American people on all levels, it is beer, whether we admit it or not. President Barack Obama recognizes that basic truth.