Author Topic: THR Related question  (Read 3746 times)

Ex-MA Hole

• friend
    • The Brown Bomber
THR Related question
« on: January 26, 2006, 04:10:16 AM »
I know, but I am at work and THR is blocked as it is an evil site.  Yes, that is dripping with sarcasm and annoyance.

One of my coworkers wants a shot gun for home defense.  I have NO knowledge in this area.  I need a quick education, please.  Explain the 12 guage, vs 20 gauge, etc.  What is "gauge", other than shell size?

Any idea for a cheap RELIABLE shottie?  As he puts it, he will put about 7-8 rounds through it to make sure it works, and then stick it under his bed.

He lives in the Boondocks of NH, and had a visitor the other day, and realized that my thoughts may not be that far off base after all.

I'm looking for overall suggestions.

He is leaning towards a used one.
One day at a time.

Brian Williams

• friend
  • I want one of these
THR Related question
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2006, 04:21:02 AM »
Gauge is how many lead balls per pound there are that are the diameter of the bore or the inside of the barrel.  12 gauge is 12 balls per pound, 20 gauge is a smaller diameter bore so has more balls per pound of lead.

As for a Shotgun for Home Defence any of the big 4, Remington 870, Winchester 1300, Mossberg 500 and the Ithaca 37.  look on that evil gunseller site and you will find good short barreled shotguns for any where from $200 to $500.  My guess is go to a good "toy " store and look on the used rack, I picked up my Win 1300 for $155 with a 22" turkey barrel and found a 22" rifled sighted on for $30 later.  

Stay away from the pistol gripped only monsters, they work only with practice and do not point well.
Brian
<><
:)

garyk/nm

• friend
  • shovelbum
THR Related question
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2006, 05:04:29 AM »
www.shotgunworld.com  (check out the Tactical Forum)
Get yourself edjumacated!

The Rabbi

• friend
  • "Ahh, Jeez. Not this sh*t again!"
THR Related question