Author Topic: can you stand another guitar question?  (Read 1014 times)

gunsmith

• I forgot to get vaccinated!
  • friend
  • I'm sorry, Dave. I'm afraid I can't do that.
can you stand another guitar question?
« on: April 01, 2006, 11:37:40 PM »
I've been playing acoustic off and on for 20 years and I got an electric
washburn (no whammie) and an amp but it's a whole different creature.

I can not figue out tabs and after all the craziness of family dying subsides
I plan on taking music lessons and finally learning to read music.

I know how to play an A chord at the 5th fret and an E on the seventh etc
Does anyone know what chords are used in that Bush song "everything zen"?
evrybody only list tabs and it doesnt make sense to me...

and my amp drives me nuts, it's allways hissing and crackling
and it seems to have two settings really loud and silent
Politicians and bureaucrats are considered productive if they swarm the populace like a plague of locust, devouring all substance in their path and leaving a swath of destruction like a firestorm. The technical term is "bipartisanship".
Rocket Man: "The need for booster shots for the immunized has always been based on the science.  Political science, not medical science."

280plus

• friend
  • Ever get that sinking feeling?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006, 05:53:47 AM »
Sorry I don't know the zen song but the amp problem could be a bad input jack or a bad cord. Always suspect the cords first.
Avoid cliches like the plague!

natedog

• friend
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 11:35:35 AM »
This should get you going on reading tab:
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/for_beginners/reading_guitar_tablature_ii.html

The only thing it fails to mention is reading chords from tab. When you have the numbers stacked on top of eachother, you know to play a chord, like

e----0
b----2
g----2
d----2
a----0
e----0