Author Topic: Tips for hawking stuff on eBay  (Read 626 times)

Justin

• friend
Tips for hawking stuff on eBay
« on: April 02, 2006, 07:29:04 AM »
Ok, so the "going over the books" thread that Blackburn started has gotten me curious about selling stuff on eBay.

I've got a pile of random stuff that I want to sell- books I have no intention of reading, DVD's I've watched once, knick-knacks (Gads, I *hate* knick-knacks), some clothes, etc.

As an experiment, I've put up one auction, but after almost five days, the thing has had maybe six views.

So, for those of you who've been at the eBay game for awhile, how do I tailor my listings so that they show up in searches and get views?
Your secretary is not a graphic designer, and Microsoft Word is not adequate for print design.

Gewehr98

• friend
  • Yee-haa!
    • Neural Misfires (Blog)
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006, 07:45:04 AM »
I've been selling stuff on e-Bay for a couple years - mostly gun parts and reloading equipment.  Pictures of the items are an absolute must.  Follow that with a well-written description of the item, and throw in something about why your item is so special that someone has to bid on it.  Keep shipping and handling costs reasonable, and offer a return policy.  

Some things just aren't interesting, no matter how you list them.  They'll sit and stagnate.  Used clothing may be in that category. But it seems other items will move 100% of the time.  I'm getting ready to put up another batch of .30-06 brass, 100 pieces per auction, and it astounds me how well something so mundane moves.
"Bother", said Pooh, as he chambered another round...

http://neuralmisfires.blogspot.com

"Never squat with your spurs on!"

garrettwc

• friend
  • Tell me what I want to know and the pain will stop
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 06:53:52 PM »