Author Topic: so this is not a cherry phosphate recepie?  (Read 852 times)

vaskidmark

• National Anthem Snob
  • friends
  • WTF?
so this is not a cherry phosphate recepie?
« on: June 01, 2013, 09:19:04 PM »
http://orgprepdaily.wordpress.com/2008/08/02/a-phosphine-that-will-get-you-fired/

This phosphine will get you fired
Filed under: lab destruction, lit highlights, mechanisms — milkshake @ 11:32 pm

Beautiful asymmetric transition metal-catalysed chemistry with phosphine ligands chiral on phosphorus dates back to Knowles and Mislow. But these P-stereogenic homochiral phosphines are usually harder to make, so they were eventually supplanted by ligands with chirality on carbon. As a freshman I used to work for a young assistant prof in Prague - and since I was very interested in asymmetric synthesis, he suggested that I could do a thesis work with him on these ligands; We would put some chiral but racemic phosphine building block onto optically active binaphtyl piece derived from BINOL, and we would get BINAP-like ligands with both axial chirality and chirality on phosphorus. We would then try to separate the stereoisomers and see which one worked better in Rh and Ru-catalysed asym hydrogenations, and we would try to interconvert the stereoisomers to see how the kinetic vs thermodynamic induction control looks like, etc. (Chiral phosphines are conformationally labile on phosphorus above 100C whereas the 2,2′-disubst binaphtyl pieces are fairly stable and should not racemize).

It goes on for quite a bit more.  And then there are the comments.

IIRC there are a few APSers who not only understand this stuff but have played with something like this.  What I want to know is, besides a really bad smell, will there be an earth-shattering kaboom?

stay safe.
If cowardly and dishonorable men sometimes shoot unarmed men with army pistols or guns, the evil must be prevented by the penitentiary and gallows, and not by a general deprivation of a constitutional privilege.