Author Topic: Lawn mower advice please  (Read 7674 times)

Oleg Volk

• Administrator
    • Volkstudio Blog
Lawn mower advice please
« on: April 11, 2005, 09:53:18 AM »
I need to mow a 0.2 acre sloped lot. My options are: used 6HP Sears gas mower for $110 or getting an electric mower. I dislike the smell of gas and the engine noise, but I am dubious about the utility of a battery or a corded electric model. Please advise what to get.

Harold Tuttle

• Professor Chromedome
  • friend
Lawn mower advice please
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 09:56:32 AM »
i have been running the same corded electric black & decker for 12 years

for a small lots its fine & its very quiet

you will learn the zen of drag cord flipping
"The true mad scientist does not make public appearances! He does not wear the "Hello, my name is.." badge!
He strikes from below like a viper or on high like a penny dropped from the tallest building around!
He only has one purpose--Do bad things to good people! Mit science! What good is science if no one gets hurt?!"

charby

• Necromancer
  • Administrator
  • APS's Resident Sikh/Muslim
Lawn mower advice please
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 10:05:12 AM »
I mowed a 1/4 acre yard one time with a electric mower..  never again damn cord slowed me down.

I use a 2 cycle lawnboy Silver series and love it.

You could check out this mower on your small lot. Its electric and mows by itself. http://www.ie.husqvarna.com/node1533.asp
Iowa- 88% more livable that the rest of the US

Uranus is a gas giant.

Team 444: Member# 536

mtnbkr

• friend
Lawn mower advice please
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2005, 10:17:00 AM »
I mow a postage stamp yard (front is 10ft wide and 30ft long, give or take a few, back is twice as wide) in NoVa with a corded electric mower.  It does the job just fine.  Occasionally, the cord gets in the way, but not often enough to bother me.  I can mow at any time of the day and not disturb my neighbors.