Author Topic: I cant take it any more  (Read 10392 times)

Kyle

I cant take it any more
« on: September 19, 2006, 10:52:18 PM »
Some discussions over on THR have my blood boiling...  This is what I want to post there but I cant so I am posting it here.

I am so tired of this "leftists hate god and are intolerant of anyone practicing religion" garbage.

I am not a leftist. I am a college student. I am an NRA member (as of a few days a go ^_^) I actively campaign and volunteer for Republican and conservative candidates in local, state, and sometimes national elections. I work with groups on campus to spread conservatism and bring attention to UN atrocities and the border travesty, etc. We are having David Horowitz come to campus tomorrow to talk about his book and how to spot and combat communist professors.

HOWEVER

I am a positive, "fundamentalist" athiest. I also happen to be an ardent scolar of religion, especialy the judeo-christian ones. Not as a form of rebellion or as a way to spurn society and my parents. I have never had a religion, so I am an athiest. So, I am pro-choice, pro-gay, and pro-church/state seperation.

Why do a-religious people not want Inteligent Design theories taught in school?

Because no, the world is not 6,000 years old. No, Adam and Eve were not the first two humans. No, snakes do not talk. No, the dinosaurs did not go extinct because they were too big to fit on the Ark. No, the answer to the question "then how is it that stars are many many light-years away?" is not "because God bends the light to test our faith."

What people need to understand is that the mythologies of the old testament are simply that: mythologies. This is not used as a perjorative. They are mythologies. They are poetic ways of conveying a spiritual truth. No, God did not part the red sea for Moses. That is not true. But the statement of faith "God will help his followers when they need it most" IS true (for a religious person).