Author Topic: Small, home use tractors  (Read 3551 times)

Fly320s

• friend
  • Formerly, Arthur, King of the Britons
Small, home use tractors
« on: September 11, 2014, 05:20:55 PM »
Does anyone have experience with the smaller size John Deere or Kubota tractors?

What I need it to do:

Snow plowing in winter
Landscape work. Moving dirt, rocks.
Knocking down smaller trees and cutting back brush.
Mowing. Maybe a half acre at most, but I'd like to get rid of my other mower.
Maybe grading the driveway until I get it paved.
Other residential tasks.
Islamic sex dolls.  Do they blow themselves up?

Boomhauer

• Former Moderator, fired for embezzlement and abuse of power
  • friends
Re: Small, home use tractors
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2014, 05:28:03 PM »
I've got plenty of experience

You want at least a 35hp or so tractor (couple less HP is OK). I do not recommend less than 30 at all, there are lots of 20hp tractors out there but to me they are just too small to do real work. Mine is the perfect size IMHO, small enough to get into lots of places big enough to do all the work you could want.

I own a John Deere 955 with a 70a loader. Hydrostatic transmission. This is probably one of the best small tractors made. I've seen dealers sell this model for more than we paid for it when we brought it new, but I've seen reasonable prices used. They are good little units, and if I had to buy another tractor in this category again I'd get the exact same thing.

I would look for a few years old one, I do not recommend new ones at all due to the Tier 4 emissions bullshit. Mine has a Yanmar engine, and Yanmar makes excellent engines.

I have used Kubotas at work and they do OK.

We use a rear mount finish mower to cut our grass, and it does pretty well. Not the finest cut, but more than acceptable for "country" property.

These things are the damned handiest things to have around. You'll find uses for the front end loader in particular that you would never have thought of before.