Author Topic: Best sport bike under $10k?  (Read 11345 times)

Smith

• friend
Best sport bike under $10k?
« on: March 05, 2005, 04:06:44 AM »
I am a true beginner, but I think I would be very careful and would be responsible enough to buy a real sport bike from the onset, rather than a junker and then move up.  Ultimately I'd like to take it through mountain passes and all the other things that sport bike guys like to do.  I haven't found a good, non-biased bike forum yet, or one that is not brand specific...so, if your limit was $10k, what would you choose, and why?

BillBlank

• friend
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2005, 04:28:13 AM »
After passing a test, uk one is better than the joke in the US btw, I rode a gsxr400 for 2 weeks, got bored bought a cbr600 98 model. Should cost you about 3k and will be way better than you, really. Spend the rest on fairings when you crash, and you will crash. If you are not prepared to set fire to your money because, trust me on this, when you crash it will burn a lot of cash then try a cb500 for six months then flog it and trade up. If you think my choices are a bit wussy then by all means by a fireblade and be one of thoe fellows with all the gear and no idea. Even now after many years I only ride a little GSXR750 (with a yoshi exhaust, pc3usb and 6hrs of dyno time admitedly), funny thing is those blades and r1's don't seem to get away :twisted: .

In summary, the cbr 6 will look after you, there are many of them so repairing or replacing it should be cheaper. They do 150mph so they are not slow. The handling can only be described as excellent. Use bridgestones. The residuals are excellent so IF it survives it's time with you you do not lose too much.