Author Topic: Whisky newbie wants recommendations.  (Read 1317 times)

peteinct

• friend
Whisky newbie wants recommendations.
« on: September 02, 2019, 03:39:04 PM »
everyone, I am a whisky newbie who would like some brands to try. I like jack daniels for the infrequent times I have had whisky. I didn't like sweet flavors i.e. wild turkey or southern comfort. Does anyone have some suggestions for me? Cheaper ones would be better for me as I wont buy an expensive bottle just for a taste. Thanks, Pete

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Re: Whisky newbie wants recommendations.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2019, 03:46:07 PM »
So as a newbie you're not expected to know, but you're looking at a wide array of whiskies. Bourbons, Ryes, Scotch, Irish single malts, etc. If you have an idea of category, that would help us with recommendations.

To start, as I often say around here, High West whiskies have become my favorite go-tos in the American whiskey scene. Their double rye (a mix of young and old ryes) is only ~$30/bottle and tastes better to me than many $60 whiskies I have had.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

zxcvbob

• friend
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2019, 03:50:28 PM »
Kirkland (Costco) Canadian whisky is the best deal out there.  It's good (tastes about like Crown Royal) and it's relatively cheap; about $20 for a handle.

Elijah Craig is a very good American whiskey.  I don't remember exactly what style it is, but I don't think it's bourbon.  [edit: it is bourbon]

My favorite is Wild Turkey 101 proof Rye.  I like it better than some much more expensive ones.  Alas, they don't make it anymore.  :'(
"It's good, though..."

Fly320s

• friend
  • Formerly, Arthur, King of the Britons
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2019, 04:07:22 PM »
How do you like your whiskey?  Neat, rocks, mixed, cocktails?

Try a few videos from these guys.  Educational and entertaining.