Author Topic: excel sorting, mix of letters/numbers  (Read 332 times)

Brad Johnson

• friend
  • Witty, charming, handsome, and completely insane.
excel sorting, mix of letters/numbers
« on: January 26, 2023, 10:48:05 AM »
Fighting an issue in Excel. I have a master database of rooms. Room numbers are the usual mix where main room numbers are all numeric but sub-rooms have an alpha suffix.

Example: Main room is 120. Attached storage room is 120A.

Excel is doggedly treating some cells as text, some as numbers. I've tried group-formatting them to TEXT, GENERAL, and CUSTOM with no luck. It also insists on grouping the sorts into TEXT and NUMBER blocks regardless of what formatting I use.

When I sort, it gives me the choice of A) Sort anything that looks like a number as a number, or B) Sort numbers and numbers stored as text separately. Neither gives satisfactory results, wanting to group cells with numbers only and cells with numeric/alpha room numbers seperately.

Anyone have a way to beat it into submission?

Brad
It's all about the pancakes, people.
"And he thought cops wouldn't chase... a STOLEN DONUT TRUCK???? That would be like Willie Nelson ignoring a pickup full of weed."
-HankB

MechAg94

• friend
Re: excel sorting, mix of letters/numbers
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2023, 10:58:14 AM »
The only brute force way that comes immediately to mind is to strip off the letters into a separate column then do a two tier sort.  Depends on how long the list is.  I will have to think more about that.
“It is much more important to kill bad bills than to pass good ones.”  ― Calvin Coolidge

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2023, 11:12:15 AM »
Just off the top of my head, set the cell type to General and throw a hyphen in between the room number and letter.

Or... Move the letter designator to its own column.
Carbon Monoxide, sucking the life out of idiots, 'tards, and fools since man tamed fire.

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical