Author Topic: US Automobile Travel With Guns  (Read 419 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
US Automobile Travel With Guns
« on: May 09, 2023, 02:32:41 PM »
The Armed Attorneys just put out a pre-Summer vacation video on traveling with your guns. I've traveled interstate a good bit by car with guns, but still learned some stuff I was unaware of, even though I have always (or at least thought I did) thoroughly researched current state laws before travel.

What I found most interesting and was unaware of was the concept of "legal start and legal finish" and "cessation of travel", to include overnight stops.

https://youtu.be/EwO64jXZvcE
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

Hawkmoon

• friend
Re: US Automobile Travel With Guns
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2023, 05:13:42 PM »
I'm not a lawyer, but I notice they haven't cited ANY cases to support a couple of their more outrageous claims.

First: Stopping overnight is a cessation of travel. Says who? I've been following this for close to 20 years, and I am not aware of ANYONE who has even been arrested and prosecuted for this, let alone convicted. As the chick said at 5:00, "We don't have a statute to tell us yes or no." Everything I have read over the past 20 years has advised (also without any common law cases as support) that an overnight stop at a hotel or motel close to your route of travel would "probably" be considered to be in the normal course of travel. You can't drive from California to Maine without stopping somewhere to eat, pee, and sleep. Stopping at a Holiday Inn Express near an interchange of the highway you're traveling on would be a normal part of the trip. I don't accept her statement at around 3:30 and again at 4:45 that an overnight stop is a destination.