Author Topic: Computer building question  (Read 7309 times)

dogmush

• friend
Computer building question
« on: September 13, 2023, 05:24:51 PM »
My desktop computer is dying, and probably due for a replacement.  I've been limping it along since about 2008, and it has dropped from my primary computer, to my secondary, to a backup, to the one that sits in the office and I go to when the APS post in my mind is too long for my tablet's virtual keyboard.  I also do my taxes on it, and have a couple hard drives slotted in with all my historical stuff.

So I need a desktop that can run Windows 11 (pro?  I usually get the pro version of windows, but haven't really played with 11), has a ton of storage, the ability to take multiple drives, or both, can do web browsing and YouTube streaming, isn't too expensive, supports multiple monitors, and (this is the weird part) looks cool sitting in my office.  Mrs. Mush has been crying about my ancient gaming desktop sitting under the desk like a huge monolith for 5 or 6 years.  If I can get 10 or so years out of it, I'm good for $500-$700 on this application.

So I though I'd build one for kicks.  I found these cases that fit the "fits décor" portion of the list: https://www.fractal-design.com/products/cases/terra/ or https://www.fractal-design.com/products/cases/north/

I can probably figure out motherboards, drives, power supplies, and RAM from poking around on Newegg, but does anyone have ideas for a chip and video card that walks the line between "not too expensive" and "good enough it'll still surf the net and run windows in 8 or so years"?

Is a decent home build doable in that budget?

Should I just go to best buy and get something pre made?

Thanks.

Brad Johnson

• friend
  • Witty, charming, handsome, and completely insane.
Re: Computer building question
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2023, 05:30:47 PM »
Didn't Jays2Cents do an upper-midrange build not too long ago?