Author Topic: EMTs and Medical Responders -- Quick Clot?  (Read 9688 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
EMTs and Medical Responders -- Quick Clot?
« on: June 07, 2005, 06:18:08 PM »
For any of you First Responders: What can you tell me about Quick Clot?

I've read good things about it, but have not seen any in person, nor seen use demonstrations. I was thinking of ordering some for our field medical packs at work, but product use would have to be somewhat idiot-proof because, well, you know...

Opinions?
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

cfabe

• friend
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2005, 08:30:21 PM »
I'm not a medical professional at all, but from what I've heard it might not be the best idea to put in a first aid kind of kit because untrained people will tend to use it on cuts that are not immeadiately life threatening. I believe it's intended use is to stop massive bleeding on patients who would bleed out before getting them to help, but in the process it does some damage to surrounding tissue as well. So if your work conditions post this kind of threat, get some, but get people trained on when to use it and when to use normal bleeding control techniques (direct pressure, elevate, arterial pressure point, etc).

Azrael256

• friend
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2005, 04:54:32 AM »
but product use would have to be somewhat idiot-proof
GAH!  That statement by itself is terrifying!  cfabe is right on.  If you need first aid kits beyond an alcohol swab and a band-aid, you need training.  Go find the red cross, or a fire station, or a boy scout camp or somesuch, and get set up for some first aid training for anyone who needs it.