Author Topic: Having a dog sure is nice.  (Read 800 times)

GigaBuist

• friends
    • http://www.justinbuist.org/blog/
Having a dog sure is nice.
« on: October 30, 2007, 01:26:31 PM »
I've been working from home for about 2 months now.  I like being home the majority of the day, though it does make me stir crazy sometimes.  The nicest things about this situation are:

1)  I can snack on anything I want.
2)  I can keep a better eye on the place.

My work desk is built into the kitchen / dining room area, facing away from a nice big window that looks out our driveway.

Today my dog lets out a quick bark, hops up, comes to me, and looks out the window.  FedEx truck is right there.  I never saw or heard him coming, but the dog did!

I posted on here before about him alerting on absolutely everything, but now that he's a year old that's starting to taper off.  I tend to give him treats when he finds people in our yard (meter readers) and when a car is in the driveway and he lets me know.

Oh, and FedEx must be doing something new.  A minute or two after the guy left I got an email showing that my package was delivered.

Jamisjockey

• Booze-fueled paragon of pointless cruelty and wanton sadism
  • friend
  • Your mom sends me care packages
Re: Having a dog sure is nice.
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2007, 02:14:18 PM »
Yeah my dog alerts on everything.  The kids down the street have a kick-me dog, and walk it incessantly when the weather is good.  When we move into the new Casa we'll be way more secluded, I'll begin rewarding her for alerting there.
JD

The price of a lottery ticket seems to be the maximum most folks are willing to risk toward the dream of becoming a one-percenter. “Robert Hollis”

Declaration Day

• friends
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2007, 02:33:10 PM »