Author Topic: Does buying gold now make any sense?  (Read 19423 times)

zahc

• friend
Does buying gold now make any sense?
« on: March 17, 2008, 01:12:34 PM »
I'm a saver, in no debt, old payed-for cars that barely run, college degree, apt dweller, married, wife works, I'm a starving scientist, 22yo. Together we pull in $40ksome a year, which doesn't get you far in Dallas. We have a precious few thousand in the bank.

I was going to buy gold several months ago. Honestly,  the only thing that kept me from it was, i didn't know how to go about it. I wanted physical coins and most people recommended I try eBay, which freaked me out.

It as $800 then, now it's over 1000 I think. I'm distressed that my cash savings are losing value so fast. I don't own much in the way of real assets. It doesn't really seem like there's much to lose from buying gold; assuming one is hedging against inflation. On one hand, we don't have much liquididy as it is, on the other hand, that makes it all the worse with inflation. I'm still wondering if I shouldn't buy a couple gold eagles, and as i wonder, the price of gold continues to go up....
Maybe a rare occurence, but then you only have to get murdered once to ruin your whole day.
--Tallpine

grampster

• friend
Re: Does buying gold now make any sense?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 01:31:53 PM »
You are way too young to be worried about economic downturns.  What goes up will go down and vice versa.  That will happen a few times in your life.  Gold is like any commodity; severe rapid changes.

Imho, if you haven't bought gold by now, you oughta not.  If you have a 401k, it's buying you into stocks at lower prices.  You're getting more shares for your dollars. They will go up over time which will be good for you.