Author Topic: good resources for learning about electricity/electronics?  (Read 6832 times)

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
good resources for learning about electricity/electronics?
« on: August 03, 2009, 01:02:22 PM »
Any thoughts on good books/websites for learning the basics of electricity in general and electronics specifically? I'm studying for my electrician's license and the course material we have sucks. Poorly written, confusing subject jumps, and so dry I think I'm back in the Mojave every time I try to read it.

In addition to my professional interest, I'm also getting into playing bass and I really want to understand and be able to work on all the electronics, both in the bass and the amp. Any good beginner guides to the subject?
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

Jim147

• friends
Re: good resources for learning about electricity/electronics?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 01:57:43 PM »
You might try this for a website
I don't now if they still sell them but I've bought a few books at Radio Shack.

jim
Sometimes we carry more weight then we owe.
And sometimes goes on and on and on.

BAH-WEEP-GRAAAGHNAH WHEEP NI-NI BONG

CNYCacher

• friend
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 02:20:35 PM »
A wire is a pipe.
Electrons are water,
Resistance is a kink in the pipe.
Voltage is water pressure.
Current is gallons per minute.
A voltage source is like a water tower, the more voltage: the higher the tower.

Power (wattage) is voltage * current ; like how hard can you turn a water wheel with X gallons per minute at Y pressure

That should cover the basics,