Author Topic: Any shotshell reloaders here ?  (Read 1117 times)

GAGGER

Any shotshell reloaders here ?
« on: January 25, 2010, 10:48:20 AM »
Good morning. I have a bunch of 3.5" 12 gauge hulls  laying around that I cant reload because of my press. Can I cut them down to 2.75" and load? I know you are supposed to match the powder, primer and wad to the specific hull you  are using. Is there a light target load that might be usable in all different hulls ? I am a noob to shotshell reloading. Thanks in advance.

HankB

• friend
Re: Any shotshell reloaders here ?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 10:55:33 AM »
Everything I've read in shotshell reloading manuals states that you should follow the recipe exactly and not attempt to extrapolate loads. I've interpolated powder charges a few times, but that's only when published data shows powder charges that bracket the one I want to use, with all other components held constant.

I would not try to convert 3.5" shells into 2.75" shells; you simply don't know how the internal volume, taper of the case walls, etc., compares with regular 2.75" shells . . . and even the act of forming a new crimp after trimming 3/4" off the shell could change ballistic characteristics.
Trump won in 2016. Democrats haven't been so offended since Republicans came along and freed their slaves.
Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it. - Mark Twain
Government is a broker in pillage, and every election is a sort of advance auction in stolen goods. - H.L. Mencken
Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain

GAGGER

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 12:29:56 PM »
I did make a dummy round and it crimped well. I posted this on thr also and got the same reply. I strange to think the volume varies that much, 12 gauge is 12 gauge, 3.5" is just longer ???

Tuco

• Fastest non-sequitur in the West.
  • friends