Author Topic: Cleaning out a motorcycle fuel tank  (Read 5022 times)

Matthew Carberry

• Formerly carebear
  • friend
  • Fiat justitia, pereat mundus
Cleaning out a motorcycle fuel tank
« on: May 06, 2011, 02:29:47 AM »
Pulled the tank so I could check the filter thingie.  I knoiw theres rust in there, short of sandblasting is there any way to knock off any loose bits and reseal it or something?

Maybe just give it a good rinse with something?
"Not all unwise laws are unconstitutional laws, even where constitutional rights are potentially involved." - Eugene Volokh

"As for affecting your movement, your Rascal should be able to achieve the the same speeds no matter what holster rig you are wearing."

Regolith

• friend
Re: Cleaning out a motorcycle fuel tank
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2011, 02:40:50 AM »
Only thing I can think of is hit it with CLR, and make sure it's rinsed out really well. 

Please note, I am not a mechanic and following anything I say may result in the destruction of your engine, and that I am not liable for any damages.  :P
The price of freedom is eternal vigilance. - Thomas Jefferson

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves. - William Pitt the Younger

Perfectly symmetrical violence never solved anything. - Professor Hubert J. Farnsworth

BobR

• Just a pup compared to a few old dogs here!
  • friend
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2011, 02:52:32 AM »
The method to remove tank rust really depends on how bad the rust is. This is a good start.

http://www.motorcycleanchor.com/motorcycle/how_to/mc_tankrust.html

After the rust is removed there are a couple of sealers out there but the one I am most familiar with is Kreem. It works well, but can be a little harder to work with. I have heard that people are getting very good results with Por-15 tank sealer and it is easier to work with than Kreem.